asebogospel.blogg.se

Millport fair
Millport fair









I remember rolls and sausage for breakfast and stewed brambles with custard after dinner - we had picked the brambles that day near Fintry Bay. I remember hiring a bicycle for a month and slipping out early every morning to go for a peddle along to the Marine Station and back. I still remember sitting behind the livingroom curtains at night watching for the lights of PS Talisman to come round the point and into the bay where she would eventually tie up ta the pier for the night. The island was blissfully quiet at that time of year and we got to know some of the islanders quite well. We always stayed in the same flat at 48 Stuart Street, Millport Town (top flat, above the dairy). I was able to get time off school provided I did some work while I was away. So, we used to go for a month every October. My mother would never go to the island during the Glasgow Fair because she said it would be too busy. I still have vivid and fond memories of Cumbrae. I was born in Glasgow and lived there for more than 30 years then I moved to Sheffield to go to university. For the time being, it remains a fantasy, and somewhere wonderful to dream of. One day, we, including my big brother, Fraser, will make it our home. Spent just about every summer there as a child and my parents now have a house there. I live in Glasgow but dream about living in Millport one day.can't come soon enough. My lovely gal, Sandra McIntyre, grew up on Figgatoch Farm, and would be back there tomorrow. I will live there one day once my passion for London subsides. My parents have a house in West Bay where I take my children for every holiday they get. I spent all of my childhood holidays on Cumbrae which I love and adore. Millport is brilliant! I want to sing it's praises but like you say it's so lovely in the winter once the tourists are away, I don't want to make it sound too good or we'll never get it to ourselves! Somehow makes living in such a small place more than worth it. It's so breath taking that you forget about everything. And sometimes when it feels a little claustraphobic, you look at the view out towards Arran and think."wow". Like you said, it's amazing how selfish and possessive over the place you can become. I grew up in a town further up the west coast, but my family moved to the island recently. Holidayed everyear at Millport staying assorted single ends on the front. I agree totally about the peace and quiet in millport ,I was born there Left in 1970 to join Royal AIr Force and 35years later still dream of the tranquility Largs can't hold a candle to Millport I can personally vouch for that. Anyway I had to move for employment reasons but I may find my way back there in the future. The sounds of the island are fantastic, if you sit at Kame Bay Shelter you can hear the waves roll in, very theauraputic (spelling). It is spectacuarly quiet in the winter, you can walk the street at night and you wouldn't meet another soul. I lived on millport since i was 2 until i was 20 and I can say millport is a great place to grow up. Totally agree with you, I was bought up in the city(not Glasgow though.) and moved to Bute a few years ago, I wish i had of moved here sooner! beautiful views all round, fresher air, a better community life, you wont find me moving back to city life in any hurry, no way. This blog is now closed and we are no longer accepting new posts.Comments











Millport fair